Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship 2023-24

The Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship stands as the most academically rigorous scholarship program available to graduating seniors.

To qualify, applicants must achieve a minimum composite or super score of 32 on the ACT or 1410 on the SAT and maintain a 3.50 academic grade point average.

Individuals named National Merit Finalists or National Achievement Scholars can qualify without meeting the GPA requirement, but they must still meet the ACT/SAT requirement.

Additionally, FAFSA is a mandatory requirement for eligibility.

This prestigious scholarship covers tuition, mandatory fees, and room and board expenses, offering support of up to $10,000 per year.

Arkansas Governor's Scholarship

Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship Eligibility:

  1. The Arkansas Governor’s Scholars Program scholarships aim to recognize students with the highest potential for successful college studies.

To be eligible for this scholarship, a student must:

(a) Meet the admission requirements and gain acceptance as a full-time undergraduate student in an eligible public or private college or university in Arkansas.

(b) Be a bona fide resident of the state, as defined by the Department of Higher Education.

Preference is given to students planning to start college immediately after their last year of high school.

(c) Be a citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien.

(d) Graduate from a high school.

(e) Demonstrate proficiency in reading and writing literacy, as well as mathematics.

(f) Satisfy the qualifications of superior academic ability as determined by the Department of Higher Education.

This includes factors such as ACT/SAT scores, National Merit Finalist or National Achievement

Finalist status, high school GPA, class rank, and leadership in school, community, and employment.

The Department of Higher Education may adjust the weight assigned to each criterion to better serve the state’s needs, as determined by the Arkansas Higher Education Coordinating Board.

    • ACT/SAT score, National Merit Finalist, or National Achievement Finalist: 45%
    • High school GPA: 35%
    • Rank in high school class: 10%
    • Leadership in school, community, and employment: 10%

The Department of Higher Education ensures that the weight assigned to each criterion does not disadvantage home-schooled, public school, or private school students.

Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship Continued Eligibility:

An Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship or Arkansas Governor’s Distinguished Scholarship can be awarded annually for up to one academic year.

Scholarships correspond to academic terms, such as semesters, quarters, or equivalent periods, at eligible institutions.

The institution cannot pay the entire grant for an educational year in advance.

If we have sufficient funds available, we initially award scholarships for one academic year and can renew them annually for three additional academic years if the following renewal conditions are met:

(a) The student maintains a minimum 3.0 GPA on a 4.0 scholastic grading scale.

(b) A student receiving a scholarship under the Scholarship Amounts subsection (a) maintains a minimum 3.25 GPA on a 4.0 scholastic grading scale.

(c) The recipient successfully completes at least twenty-seven (27) hours during the first full academic year and, if applicable, a total of at least thirty (30) hours per academic year thereafter.

(d) The recipient meets any other continuing eligibility criteria established by the Department of Higher Education.

Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship Application:

To apply for the scholarship, students must complete an online application available on the ADHE website at

The Department of Higher Education determines the application deadline for the calendar year in which the student graduates from high school.

The Department may extend the deadline with sufficient notice to the public.

The applicant is responsible for timely submission of the application and all required documentation.

Use of Scholarship:

(a) Scholarship funds cannot be used for educational purposes beyond a baccalaureate degree.

(b) An exception to subsection

(a) applies to students who earn a baccalaureate degree in three (3) years or less.

Such students may receive the scholarship for a fourth academic year to pursue a postgraduate program at an approved institution.

Scholarship Amounts:

(a) An Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship or Arkansas Governor’s Scholarship for new recipients enrolling as first-time freshmen at an approved institution equals the lesser of:

(1) Ten thousand dollars ($10,000);

(2) Tuition, room and board, and mandatory fees for a regular full-time course load charged by the enrolled institution.

(b) Students selected under “Eligibility Criteria” subsection